top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Clare

Moms In Peterborough Reveal Their Strange Food Cravings During Pregnancy


You will be surprised to know that strange food cravings are not strange during pregnancy. Most pregnant women develop taste for things that they never liked before pregnancy. As per years of research studies, strange cravings during pregnancy can happen due to hormonal changes and nutritional deficiencies. For instance, craving for red meat might indicate at iron-deficiency. 


Since strange food cravings are so prevalent in pregnant women, we thought of asking some moms in Peterborough to reveal their strange food cravings during pregnancy to us. So, let’s know what their weird pregnancy food cravings were when they were pregnant.


(Know your baby’s well-being from private ultrasound scan clinic Peterborough.)


Susan Morrison

“Yeah, so my weirdest food craving during pregnancy was pasta. Why weird? Well, because I never touched pasta before I was pregnant. When I was pregnant, I tried all sorts of seasonings on my pasta. Be it creamy and cheesy pasta or pasta with spicy mushroom sauce, my pregnancy was all about pasta and pasta”. 


Claire Steven

“When I was pregnant with my second child, I developed a sweet tooth. I would want something sweet with every meal. I was scared too because I did not want to have diabetes or gestational diabetes for that matter. So, yes, that was my second pregnancy in a nutshell”.   


Sally Hawksworth

“My pregnancy cravings consisted of pickles and spicy food. I was always a great fan of spicy food even before I received the good news but pregnancy almost amplified my cravings for spicy and well-seasoned food. Well, my accelerated craving for spicy food became a boon for me because I started experimenting with dishes to suit my palate”.  


Anne Drover

“When I was pregnant, I became addicted to peanut butter. I mean I was so addicted that not a single day in my life would pass without peanut butter. I ate peanut butter sandwiches almost every morning for my breakfast and I even drank banana and peanut butter smoothie every alternate day. Thankfully, I had a healthy pregnancy food craving because I have observed my friends and others having such unhealthy cravings, like chips, pretzels, cupcakes, and so on”. 


Kathryn Worthington    

“It’s difficult to name one because I had several. My cravings were very spontaneous. One day I would crave for mashed potatoes seasoned with salt and pepper and the very next day my cravings would be for popcorn. Also, I am not much of a foodie so I was never fussy about any particular dish. Now I know why my little girl loves mashed potatoes, I ate them a lot when I was pregnant with her so she has grown a taste for it”. 


Want to meet your unborn baby? Visit the best well being scan clinic in Peterborough.


Interesting and informative blog posts related to pregnancy:


bottom of page